top of page

Kristen Hackney - President


Name: Kristen Faith Hackney

Major: English Major, Arch Ready Certificate, British and Irish Studies Certificate

Year: 4th Year, Graduating May 2017

About Me: You can usually find me with my nose in a good book, taking pictures of my sweet kitten LBJ, or laughing out loud with my boyfriend, friends and family.

Favorite English Course at UGA: Films about the South & Modern Irish Lit

Why I Am Studying English: I was raised by a woman who loved to read and lucky for me I grew up loving to read. The older I got the more I realized that "words our most inexhaustible source of magic" and how they play a huge role in our lives. It was then that I knew I had to study English. I made the brave decision to study what I love and not what would make the most money.

Why I Started UEA: Over Christmas break my Junior year I was visiting with my family and everyone kept coming up to me asking “What are you going to do once you graduate? Teach?” After the fourth time I was asked the same thing, I began thinking that I bet a lot of other people are or have gone through this. Then I got to thinking about all of my peers and I decided that we needed an organization that was going to help English majors find their path to successful careers after graduation. I like to believe that I will be breaking the ‘English’ career stereotype and opening the eyes to all potential-English majors, English majors, or English minors on the boundless possibilities that English offers.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page